OYRA Macronix Prize

Outstanding Young Researcher Award (OYRA Macronix Prize)


The International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers (OCPA) welcomes annual nominations for the Outstanding Young Researcher Award, OYRA (Macronix Prize). The OYRA (Macronix Prize) is given annually to one to two physicist(s) and/or astronomer(s) of Chinese ethnicity working in North America, Europe, or other regions outside Asia, to encourage and recognize the young researcher’s contributions in physics or astronomy. The award to each recipient will carry a cash prize of U.S. $2000, thanks to the generous support of the Macronix Education Foundation, an education program of Macronix International Co., LTD


An OYRA candidate should be nominated by the Department Chair/Head of his/her institution (university, national and industrial labs) and should have received the Ph.D. degree within the past ten years. The following materials should be submitted to support the nomination:

  1. A brief statement by the nominator describing the research work for which the candidate is nominated.
  2. A resume and a list of major publications of the candidate.
  3. Three letters of recommendation.
  4. No more than three major publications (pdf format) of the research based on which the candidate is nominated.

We strongly encourage that all nomination materials be submitted in PDF format to the Awards chair by email. Please follow the Award Announcement for details.  The nomination will be active for 2 calendar years, subjected to the conditions delineated above. The nomination material should be sent directly to the Chair of the OCPA Awards Committee.

Details of the nomination for the current year can be found in the announcement listed at: https://ocpaweb.org/home/tag/awards


2020 Yuanming Lu The Ohio State University Bio & Citation Web
2020 Liang Wu University of Pennsylvania Bio & Citation Web
2018 Cui-zu Chang Pennsylvania State University Bio & Citation Web
2017 Jing Xia University of California at Irvine Bio & Citation Web
2016 Kin-Fai Mak Penn State University Bio & Citation Web
2016 Hai-Bo Yu University of California at Riverside Bio & Citation Web
2015 Lu Li University of Michigan Bio & Citation Web
2015 David Shih Rutgers University Bio & Citation Web
2014 Shirley Ho Carnegie Mellon University Bio & Citation Web
2014 Kang-Kuen Ni Harvard University Bio & Citation Web
2013 Liang FU MIT Bio & Citation Web
2012 Yulin CHEN Oxford Bio & Citation Web
2012 Xuan Gao CWRU Bio & Citation Web
2011 Cenke Xu UCSB Bio & Citation Web
2010 Xiaoliang Qi Stanford Univ. Bio & Citation Web
2009 Dongping Zhong Ohio State Univ. Bio & Citation Web
2009 Chong-Yu Ruan Michigan State Univ Bio & Citation Web
2008 Ho Bun Chan Univ. of Florida Bio & Citation Web
2008 Feng Wang Univ. of California, Berkeley Bio & Citation Web
2008 Congjun Wu Univ. of California, San Diego Bio & Citation Web
2007 W. Vincent Liu Univ. of Pittsburgh Bio & Citation Web
2006 Cheng Chin Univ of Chicago Bio & Citation Web
2005 Luming Duan Univ of Michigan Bio & Citation Web
2003-2004 Jonathan Feng UC Irvine Bio & Citation Web
2003-2004 Hui Cao Northwestern Univ Bio & Citation Web
2002-2003 Kun Yang Florida State Univ Bio & Citation Web
2002-2003 Hoi-Kwong Lo Univ of Toronto Bio & Citation Web
2002-2003 Pengcheng Dai Univ of Tennessee Bio & Citation Web
2001-2002 Zhen Yao Univ of Texas   Web
2000-2001 Chung-Pei Ma UC Berkeley   Web
1999-2000 Wayne Hu Univ of Chicago   Web
1998 Nai-Chang Yeh Caltech   Web
1997 Zi Qiang Qiu UC Berkeley   Web
1997 Rui Rui Du Rice Univ   Web
1996 Hong Wen Jiang UCLA   Web
1995 Wai Mo Suen Washington Univ Bio & Citation Web
1994 Xiao-Gang Wen MIT Bio & Citation Web
1994 Gang Xiao Brown Univ Bio & Citation Web
1993 Zhi-Xun Shen Stanford Univ Bio & Citation Web
1993 Terence Tai-Li Hwa UC San Diego Bio & Citation Web
1992 Shou-Cheng Zhang Stanford Univ Bio Web