2016 Achievement in Asia Award (Robert T. Poe Prize)


The International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers (OCPA) welcomes nominations for the 2016 Achievement in Asia Award (AAA) (Robert T. Poe Prize). The AAA is presented annually to a physicist/astronomer (or a team of Physicists/astronomers) of Chinese ethnicity working in Asia who has (have) made outstanding contributions in physics or astronomy. It carries a cash prize of U.S. $2000.

An AAA candidate (either the individual or the group leader) should not exceed 50 years of age. The candidate should be nominated by a senior physicist with the following supporting materials:

1. A brief statement by the nominator describing the research work performed in Asia for which the candidate or the team is nominated.

2. A résumé and a list of major publications of the candidate or the team.

3. Three letters of recommendation.

4. No more than three major publications (in PDF format) of the research based on which the candidate or the team is nominated.

We strongly encourage that all nomination materials be submitted in PDF format to the Awards chair by email. The deadline for the receipt of the nomination material this year will be April 30, 2016. The nomination will be active for 2 calendar years, subjected to the conditions delineated above. The nomi­nation material should be sent directly to the chair of the OCPA Awards Committee

Nu Xu [nxu@lbl.gov]

Central China Normal University and Mobile: 510-289-8119

MS70R0319 Phone: 510-495-2951

One Cyclotron Road Fax: 510-486-4818

Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Berkeley, CA 94720, USA


Past AAA winners include

OU-YANG, Zhong-Can (1993, Institute of Theoretical Physics, CAS, Beijing)
ZHU, Qing-Shi (1994, University of Science and Technology of China)
I, Lin (1995, Central University, Chung-Li, Taiwan)
WEI, Ching-Ming (1996, Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica, Taipei)
CHING, Emily Shuk-Chi (1999-2000, Chinese University of Hong Kong)
WANG, Jian (1999-2000, University of Hong Kong)
CHAN, Che-Ting (2000-2001, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
HOU, Jian-Guo (2001-2002, University of Science and Technology of China)
YANG, Xue-Ming (2001-2002, Inst. Atomic & Molecular Sciences, Academia

Sinica, Taipei)

HOU, Wei-Shu (2002-2003, National Taiwan University)
WANG, Enge (2002-2003, Institute of Physics, CAS)

ZHANG, Jie (2003-2004, Institute of Physics, CAS)

LI, Baowen (2004-2005, National University of Singapore)

WANG, Ning (2005-2006, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)

LI, Hsiang-Nan (2006-2007, Institute of Physics, Academia Sinica, Taipei)

GAO, Hong-Jun (2007-2008, Institute of Physics, CAS)

EAST Team (2008-2009, Institute of Plasma Physics, CAS)

MENG, Jie (2008-2009, Peking University)

FENG, Dong-Lai (2009-2010, Fudan University)

WEN, Hai-Hu (2009-2010, Institute of Physics, CAS)

HO, Pei-Ming (2010-2011, National Taiwan University)

FANG, Zhong (2011-2012, Institute of Physics, CAS)

DAI, Xi (2011-2012, Institute of Physics, CAS)

JIA, Jinfeng (2012-2013, Shanghai Jiao-Tong University)

ZHOU, Xingjiang (2012-2013, Institute of Physics, CAS)

HAN, Yi-Long (2013-2014, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology)
Yao, Wang (2013-2014, Hong Kong University)

Ma, Yugang (2014-2015, Shanghai Institute of Applied Physics, CAS)

Sun, Qing-Feng (2014-2015, Peking University)

The recipient of the AAA will be selected by a panel of distinguished physicists and astronomers. Some of the recent panelists include:

Che Ting Chan, Moses HW Chan, Leroy Chang, Kuang-Ta Chao, Hongjun Gao, Xian-Tu He, Pauchy W.-Y. Hwang, Tao Huang, Choy Heng Lai, Dung-Hai Lee, Patrick A. Lee, T. D. Lee, Ting-Kuo Lee, Zheng-Tian Lu, Jie Meng, Kok-Khoo Phua, Jianwei Qiu, Yuen-Ron Shen, Ping Sheng, Sam C.C. Ting, Wu-Tsung Weng, Maw-Kuen Wu, Tung-Maw Yan, C. N. Yang, Bin-Lin Young, Kenneth Young, Li Hua Yu, Zhong-Xian Zhao, and Qing-Shi Zhu.

For information about OCPA, please see the OCPA home page at http://ocpaweb.org/home/