2015 APS Prize Winners


Earlier, we had announced the winners of 2016 APS Prizes.  Here, we update with the complete list (courtesy Jian-Ping Chen; Jefferson Lab; OCPA Chair Communication Committee):

1)  2016 Herman Feshbach Prize in Theoretical Nuclear Physics Recipient: Xiangdong Ji University of Maryland, College Park / Shanghai Jiao Tong University

"For pioneering work in developing tools to characterize the structure of the nucleon within QCD and for showing how its properties can be probed through experiments; this work not only illuminates the nucleon theoretically but also acts as a driver of experimental programs worldwide."

2)  2016 Tom W. Bonner Prize in Nuclear Physics Recipient: I-yang Lee Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

"For seminal contributions to the field of nuclear structure through the development of advanced gamma-ray detectors as realized in the Gammasphere device, and for pioneering work on gamma-ray energy tracking detectors demonstrated by the Gamma-ray Energy Tracking Array (GRETINA).

3) 2015 Carl E. Anderson Division of Laser Science Dissertation Award Recipient Yang Zhao, Stanford University

"For her thesis entitled "Bio-Inspired Nanophotonics: Manipulating Light at the Nanoscale with Plasmonic Metamaterials."

4) 2015 Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Atomic, Molecular, or Optical Physics Recipient Norman Yao, Harvard University

"Topology, Localization, and Quantum Information in Atomic, Molecular and Optical Systems."

5) 2015 Award for Outstanding Doctoral Thesis Research in Biological Physics Recipient Quan Wang, Stanford University

"For his thesis entitled "Enabling multivariate investigation of single-molecule dynamics in solution by counteracting Brownian motion."

6) 2016 Dissertation Award in Nuclear Physics Recipient Chun Shen, McGill University

"For his successful prediction of anisotropic flow in Pb+Pb collisions at the LHC, his elucidation of the `direct photon flow puzzle', and his contributions to the development of a computational tool of viscous fluid dynamics enabling precision studies of relativistic heavy-ion collisions."

7) 2015 M. Hildred Blewett Fellowship Recipient: Huey-Wen Lin, UC-Berkeley

"Huey-Wen Lin is a visiting assistant professor at the University of California, Berkeley. She conducts research in particle and nuclear theory and is investigating properties of hadrons to provide Standard Model inputs to searches for physics beyond the Standard Model. The Blewett Fellowship will enable Lin to continue her research and publish papers using the data accumulated during the years prior to her break, with the goal of getting back on the academic tenure track. She will also access supercomputing facilities to improve results and explore connections with
other physics subfields."