International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers

Outstanding Dissertation

Outstanding Dissertation Award (ODA)

The International Organization of Chinese Physicists and Astronomers (OCPA) welcomes nominations for the inaugural 2016 Outstanding Dissertation Award (ODA). The award is given annually to up-to-four Ph.D. recipients of Chinese ethnicity world-wide, in the field of physics and/or astronomy. Each year the award carries a total cash prize of USD $1000. Each recipient may receive a maximum of USD $500.


An ODA candidate should be nominated by his/her thesis advisor and should have received the Ph.D. degree within the past two calendar years. Please follow the announcement for details. The following materials should be submitted to support the nomination:

  1. A brief statement by the nominator describing the research work for which the candidate is nominated and its potential impact.
  2. A résumé and a list of major publications of the candidate.
  3. Three letters of recommendation.

We strongly encourage that all nomination materials be submitted in PDF format to the Awards chair by email. Please follow the Award Announcement for details.  The nomination will be active for 2 calendar years, subjected to the conditions delineated above. The nomination material should be sent directly to the Chair of the OCPA Awards Committee.

2017 ODA Award Announcement

Dongping Zhong                    E-mail:
Department of Physics          Mobile: 614-323-8667
The Ohio State University      Phone: 614-292-3044
191 West Woodruff Ave.
Columbus, Ohio 43210, USA



2017 winner

Yuxiang Zhao, USTC, Ph.D., Stony Brook University

Citation: For his significant contributions to a number of new analyses of the transversity data and to hardware and simulations for the SoLID project.


The inaugural winners are:

En-Chuan Huang, U Illinois Ph.D., UIUC

Citation: For his significant role in the analysis of data from the Daya Bay Reactor Neutrino experiment leading to a precise determination of a neutrino mixing angle responsible for the phenomenon of neutrino oscillation, and for his major role in a global analysis setting a stringent limit on the existence of a new type of neutrino.

Guo-Qian Liao, Institute of Physics Ph.D., IoP/CAS (Nominated by Yu-Tong Li; IoP/CAS)

Citation: For his excellent experimental and theoreticalwork in investigating intense-terahertz (THz) radiation from relativistic laser-solid interactions, especially demonstrating coherent THz transition radiation with energies of sub-mJ/pulse, and demonstrating mode conversion mechanism from laser-excited plasma waves to THz radiation.

Feihu Xu, U Toronto Ph.D., MIT (Nominated by Hoi-Kwong Lo; U. Toronto)

Citation: For his outstanding Ph.D. thesis work at the University of Toronto on quantum information, particularly quantum cryptography. Dr. Xu has made key contributions to both the theory and experiment of quantum cryptography. He was among the first to hack successfully a commercial quantum key distribution system. And, he was the first in the world to implement experimentally a loss-tolerant protocol that takes encoding flaws in quantum key distribution into account.

Ming Yi, Stanford Ph.D., UC Berkeley

Citation: For her pioneering contribution in elucidating the electronic structure of iron based superconductors.